APrIGF 2019 Election Process Announcement

Jul 29, 2019 | News

Election Process Announcement

This is to announce the Election Process 2019 for the leadership positions of Multi-Stakeholder Steering Group (MSG).

Current leaders have served for 1 term and are concluding after APrIGF Vladivostok 2019:
Chair: Mr. Rajnesh Singh, Internet Society (ISOC) (Civil Society) (2017-2019)
Vice Chair: Ms. Sylvia Cadena, Asia Pacific Network Information Centre (APNIC) (Technical) (2017-2019)

Vacant Positions: 

  • Chair of MSG (2019-2021)
  • Vice Chair of MSG (2019-2021)

According to the APrIGF Election Procedure, a call for Election Committee has been opened from 9 Jul (Tue) – 12 Jul (Fri) 2019. With consensus among the MSG, below are the final members of Election Committee 2019.

  • Ms. Maureen Hilyard, Cook Islands (Civil Society)
  • Mr. Hiro Hotta, Japan (Technical Sector)
  • Mr. Shreedeep Rayamajhi, Nepal (Civil Society)

2019 Election Timeline

Mon 15 Jul Appointment of the Election Committee
Thu 18 Jul Nomination Period Opens
Mon 5 Aug Announcement online and notification to ACTIVE MSG VOTING MEMBERS of their eligibility to vote (as per Guideline 11.1)
Thu 8 Aug Nomination Period Closes
Sat 10 Aug Announce Final Shortlisted Candidates to MSG members
Mon 12 Aug Opening Date of Voting Period
Fri 16 Aug Closing Date of Voting Period
Mon 19 Aug Announcement of the Final Election Result


Eligibility of Candidates

Candidates for leadership (Chair or Vice-Chairs) in any election year are open to every MSG member as well as non-MSG members. However, it is desirable that all candidates possess the following qualification.

  1. Must work and reside in the Asia-Pacific region.
  2. Represent one of the listed stakeholders in section 4.0 of the Operating Principles but not limited to the list.
  3. Volunteers who have been active in the APrIGF activities and the Internet Governance space.
  4. MSG members with leadership potential and demonstrated long term commitment to the MSG’s goals.
  5. In the event of conflict of interest, MSG must declare his/her status at the earliest to the MSG Chair and the Committee as an act of good faith.

Term of office

  1. All leadership position will not exceed two consecutive terms (or four years duration).
  2. Returning leaders may choose to run for election again after one cycle (or two years) has elapsed since the last date of tenure (most recent ending term date) confirmed by the Secretariat.

Nomination Method:

Nominations of candidates should be made by submitting the names, organisation, stakeholder group, a short bio and the email address of the nominee to [email protected] ONLY before the nomination period closes. Self-nominations will also be accepted. Nominees will be informed by the Election Committee and invited to accept their candidacies.

More information about the Operating Principles and Election Procedure of APrIGF MSG, please visit https://aprigf.asia/msg.html.

Thank you very much.

Secretariat of APrIGF

More APrIGF News


The APrIGF 2023 Synthesis Document Draft 1 is currently open for public input from 22 – 28 September.

The APrIGF 2023 Synthesis Document Process

Draft 0 is currently open for public input from 21 August to 3 September. Please go to https://comment.aprigf.asia to contribute to the Synthesis Document. Join us in person at Brisbane or online during the Townhall sessions on 29 and 30 August. Everyone is welcome to take the mic. Make your voice heard!

read more